Bitza Bangle

Those of you who follow my personal blog, Unplanned Detour, will be aware of my recent changes; for the sake of those of you who do not, I’ll fill you in. I got a job! Well, two jobs: cleaning, and gardening. It’s hard physical work for my unaccustomed body, but it’s satisfying all the same. Even bigger news, I’ve bought a house! I move in next weekend, and I can’t wait. I’m probably going to be dirt poor, for the next 30 years, but I’ll figure it out. If you want to help me pay my lawyer fees, head over to my Etsy store and go nuts.

Somehow, in amongst all the madness, I managed to complete my new Bitza Bangle. Returning to some of the CGB techniques I’ve grown to love so much, this one features a nice little winged miniskirt and a scalloped edge. The skirt repeats the diamond pattern of the bangle beneath, so it’s a subtle detail which I love to run my fingers over. I’d love to make a tutorial for this one too, if only I can find the time and focus. Tutorials take a bit more cognitive power than beading, I’m not sure I have much cognitive power to spend at the moment.

20150522_162043 20150522_162224 20150522_162636

4 thoughts on “Bitza Bangle

  1. Paula J Clouse

    I’ve been watching your progress on this and I’m in love with the results. Very nice!!! I wouldn’t mind a tutorial on the use of the MRAW start to making a tubular peyote bangle with the wings. Then the beaded can design their own “pattern” .

    Reply
    1. jennysangster Post author

      Hi Paula, have you got a copy of Contemporary Geometric Beadwork Volume I? The technique is described in these books. It is available on Amazon, and a large section of it is available free at https://beadmobile.wordpress.com/cgb-free-pattern-library/. I use the Exploding Round to remove the MRAW band from the bangle, which you can learn here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qwSjAzXaqEE . I am reluctant to write a tutorial for a plain un-patterned bangle, as I feel like it’s infringing a little too much on Kate McKinnon’s work without my own pattern included. However, the Harlequin tutorial is very thorough and includes all the techniques you need – including 3 sizing options with all the maths done for you. All you need to do to change it, is decide which colours go where.

      Reply
      1. Paula J Clouse

        I do have the book, have both of them. I will try the YouTube video. I have had problems with Kate’s videos in the past. I am hearing impaired and she has had a loud bird in the background that has made it hard for me to understand her instructions. I know how to do a MRAW, I don’t understand when or why to use it. Or to remove it. I can follow directions for patterns, but as of yet no one has explained why use the MRAW then remove it. I understand using the exploding round as a sizing tool for a bangle, with a piece that is pre-sized. I do have your Harlequin tutorial haven’t felt confident enough to try it. I suppose I should just jump in and at least “try”. Thanks for your answers.

      2. jennysangster Post author

        One of my previous posts may help answer some of your questions, https://jennysangsterjewellery.wordpress.com/2014/10/14/whats-the-point-of-mraw/ . The removable MRAW is mostly useful for sizing, but also because it provides the correct bead spacing, which prevents the warping that happens with a straight peyote start. And if can be used again and again, so it saves a lot of time that would have been otherwise spent counting anc recounting. I often sell my pieces, so I don’t always have a bracelet of the correct size to build off of, having a go-to band is helpful.
        And yes, dive in! It’s not as complicated as it looks.

Leave a Reply

