Every Autumn, my Thoughts Turn to Snow

Summer is winding down here and the socks and extra blankets have been put to good use. The cats are spending more of their evenings inside and the sun is as reluctant to rise in the mornings as I am.

My daughter enjoying her first snow in 2011

My daughter enjoying her first snow in 2011

I enjoy the colder months. I love the feeling of being rugged up warm inside, while outside the wind howls or the rain pours and puddles freeze. Oh, I know, it’s cold and flu season, but that doesn’t bother me, I seem to get colds and flus year-round anyway. We’re lucky that we don’t get the extremes of the South Island. We get the odd snow fall, but not every year, so when it does happen it’s exciting and we want more. We’ve only had one really good snow fall in the last decade or so, and I have my fingers crossed for another this winter.But I’m getting ahead of myself. Winter is still two months away. Best that I enjoy the Autumn first.

In beady news, my Hollow Cube Beaded Bead tutorial is available in my Etsy store right now. I have Deb from Datz Katz to thank for proofing it for me and picking up my many typos. I have two more tutorials in the works, but they are a bit more complicated than a humble cube, so they may take some time.

Hollow Cube Beaded Bead

Hollow Cube Beaded Bead

This past weekend, Wanganui/Whanganui (which ever spelling makes you happy, please don’t set the “H” police onto me), artists had their annual Open Studio weekend, which is a wonderful thing. This year 72 private studios were open to the public, featuring every kind of artist imaginable. I was in town for other reasons, so I didn’t tour around, but I did find time to stop in to see Barbara Bullock’s glass studio (Beads with Flare) and picked up a few lamp-worked beads. Barbara mostly works free-form with her glass and torch, but she also makes larger fused glass art pieces. She was a wonderful, and informative host and gave us a demonstration of her process. Next year, I hope the dedicate the entire weekend to studio hopping.

Leave a Reply

