Naps and Nuttiness

One of the benefits of being an anxious person, is motivation. It’s easy to get the housework done when you’re stressed. I have a crazy internal voice that says, “I have to get all the washing done before Husband gets home or he’ll think I do nothing all day, and he’ll secretly resent me forever.” and “If all the beds aren’t made first thing in the morning I might forget to make them and that would be a disaster for reasons unknown“. It also means I get lots of beading done because, “If I don’t bead this idea right now, I might forget about it and it will be gone for good.”

Being insane definitely has it’s pluses. Unfortunately it also means that you’re perpetually frazzled, and no matter how much housework and beading you’ve done, it’s never enough and you still feel like a failure. When it all gets too much, intervention is necessary. Luckily I’m blessed with a fair bit of self-awareness on this front, and know when it’s time to ask for medical help, which is what I did 7 weeks ago.

Ahh, sweet relief! This is a much more relaxed pace. I’m not sweating the small stuff and it’s great. The draw back, of course is that I’m tired. I have a pile of unfolded washing in my living room and no inclination to fold it. I’m only able to bead for short periods of time before my eyelids start drooping and I lose concentration. I am making jewellery and tutorials, but only very slowly. My doctor tells me that this will pass soon, so please bear with me, I just need to stretch out in the sun and have a wee nap first.

sleep

Leave a Reply

