One of those weeks

Many of you are already aware of my key situation, but for those of you who are not, I’ll recap. After putting away my new beads from Fire Mountain Gems, then dealing with the Mountain of Dolphin’s Tears that had accumulated, I somehow lost the key to my bead cabinet. After much searching and wringing of hands, my mother told me she had a matching one for her china cabinet and she would get a copy made. This still meant that I had to go days without access to my beads though. It was rough.

On Wednesday I picked my new key, (HURRAY!) but ever since, I’ve been too ill to attempt anything beady (BOO!). I want to bead, but by the time the kids are in bed at night, I’m too exhausted.  I did get a little bit of a bead fix yesterday. My 6 year old daughter had a day off school, so we got a have some rare one-on-one time while Mr. 3 was at kindergarten. She had her first go at peyote stitch using these giant plastic cylinder beads. She zipped her swatch up into a tube to use as a pendant.

005 013

If I feel up to it tonight, I’ll be playing with a Swarovski skull bead. I’ve already made one wire wrapped necklace using one of these guys, and now I’ve got a commission to do another.  Exciting stuff. I’m hoping to figure out a way of displaying the bead so that his beautifully faceted cranium is visible, as much as I love the pendant below, I can’t help but mourn for the back of the bead and feel like I’m not doing it justice.  I have a kernel of an idea, we’ll have to wait and see if it pans out.

hayleskull

Leave a Reply

