My Plastic Bag Order Arrived

One of my favourite things is when a box from Fire Mountain Gems, arrives full of sparkles and happiness.  It’s so satisfying to rip the box open, check off everything on the list and find that once again, my order is without flaw. Fire Mountain have brilliant customer service.

But then comes the unpackaging process. This is where it gets tedious.
In my order I bought two gorgeous vials of of pea-green Miyuki Delicas. Each vial was sealed in it’s own plastic bag. The two bags containing the vials were then packed into a zip-lock bag, which was placed inside yet another sealed bag. This forth sealed bag was put inside another larger zip-lock bag which contained a gazilion (slight exaggeration) other little packages containing more bags and beads. This larger bag was placed in a box with another large bag full of bags and beads, wrapped in bubble-wrap, with a lovely piece of green tissue paper placed on top with a heart-shaped sticker proclaiming that my order was “packed with love”.

I adore Fire Mountain Gems, but surely there must be a better, less wasteful way. I’m sure there must be a good reason for the way Fire Mountain Gems packages their goods. Possibly it is something to do with simplifying their processes in the warehouse, I don’t really know. All that I know, is that it seems excessive, and it’s not exactly eco-friendly.

029

If you want to see what an order that is TRULY packaged with love, take a look at the parcel I got from the Queen Bead at The Bead Hold this morning. Only one layer of plastic bubble wrap to protect the goods inside, firmly wrapped to prevent movement, and actually gift wrapped!  The Queen Bead herself is approachable and happy to give advice to her customers. Nothing beats the personal touch of a small local business. Find The Bead Hold on Facebook.

003

And a card telling me to have fun with my bits…..O.o

005

One thought on “My Plastic Bag Order Arrived

  1. Pingback: One of those weeks | Jenny Sangster Jewellery

Leave a Reply

