The Nature of Beadwork

fortune3

My new Fortune Teller is taking an age to complete.  All of my little variations have added up to create an enormous piece, I’m still not really sure what it’s final incarnation will be. Will it be a bangle or a bowl, a crown perhaps?  I’ve clocked up 35 hours work so far and I’m still increasing the horns.002

While weaving, I take care to treat the work lightly, gently cajoling beads and thread in to the correct alignment; never using force. It dawns on me that potential buyers, may not understand the delicate nature of beadwork and I find myself unsure how to address the issue without giving the impression that the quality is somehow substandard.

Bead weaving is basically threads of nylon or polyethylene which have been spider-webbed together – under tension – using tiny pieces of glass as connection points. As with anything that is under tension, these threads and beads have a breaking point. Bead work should be treated with great care. Contraptions like the Fortune Teller with it’s horns, spikes, and thin walled cylinder beads, even more so; such pieces are art and not for mere casual wear. Take care not to twist or squash your beadwork from it’s natural form, treat it like you should a living thing and it will reward you with longevity.

8 thoughts on “The Nature of Beadwork

      1. Patricia Wren

        Back when I was teaching Temari classes, I would be startled at some of the colour combinations my students would choose. Then in the final work they would be stunning. So now I sometimes look for something that will really pop, giving emphasis to the design in some way. One never stops learning. Patricia

      2. jennysangster Post author

        I love watching the work of others. It’s funny how a single design can be so different in the hands of different people. That’s why I’m constantly on Kate’s CGB facebook page, people are choosing colours that I wouldn’t dream of putting together and everything looks new and fresh and fabulous.

Leave a Reply

