Evolution and a Gift

013
Ahh creation, what a fickle beast you are. Due to my building frustration with wire, I decided to just sit down and bead. I didn’t know what to make and I flicked through the pages of my ‘ideas’ book, but nothing inspired. I resigned myself to a little therapeutic repetition in the form of herringbone stitch. My intention was just to make a little swatch of fabric while I mulled over my options. As the swatch grew, I found myself admiring the textured ridges that are archetypical of herringbone, and I thought, why not make this into a bracelet, I added some crystals for effect. It still looked a little plain, so I began adding a border and more possibilities became evident; now the border, is a border no more. My little swatch has taken on a life of it’s own and it’s still growing.
003I’ve even started another one so I can take photos for a future tutorial idea, and have begun tinkering with software to make diagrams. This is a bit of a learning curve for me so don’t expect overnight results.

In the middle of all of this, I got a wonderful surprise in the mail. My armbands that I had sent to Kate McKinnon for her wonderful photography had returned home. Accompanying them were some goodies, a Japanese puzzle eraser, a vial of lovely silver charlottes and a copy of the amazing, inspiring , Contemporary Geometric Beadwork Volume I. I immediately shut myself away with it so that I could absorbs as much of it as I could, I love, love, love it. I’m so excited to be having my work included in Volume II, I’m almost jumping out of my skin!

One thought on “Evolution and a Gift

Leave a Reply

