Captured Heart

Image 01

The other day while I was wrestling with circular brick stitch, I done an image search to try to figure out where I was going wrong. I came across a beautiful bracelet made by Penny Dixon. The picture was posted on her blog, which I started reading. I became more and more distracted from what I was meant to be doing, when I saw a pair of earrings she had made. These stunning wire and bead earrings looked vaguely familiar and when I read the accompanying blog post, I discovered why. Penny’s ‘Captured Heart’ earrings were recently featured in the August edition of Bead & Button magazine – with a tutorial! I had seen them in the magazine, but I hadn’t really gotten much of a chance to look closely through the issue. After admiring them on Penny’s blog, I couldn’t wait to give them a try.

I sent Penny an email asking permission to sell the earrings, should I be successful, to which she kindly consented. Penny warned me that the first attempt can take a long time, and she wasn’t wrong! There is a surprising amount of work in these earrings. I’m not sure quite how many hours I sat there, but it was just about mid-night when I finished. The fine gauge wire is difficult to work with, but I got the hang of it towards the end. I loved my results, but there were errors, and they were a little too untidy. I’ll be keeping those for myself.

Attempt number two. I know I said I was only going to take one night off from brick stitch, but it would seem that I lied. I had to try the earrings again, they’re just too awesome. This time things went a little faster and a little tidier, but my wire frame was still too big. I’m going to need some more practise before I sell these, but I like where I’m headed.

Many thanks to Penny for making this tutorial available.

Leave a Reply

