Self-limitation

Image 01

All of us have pre-conceived notions of how things should be. We stick to these ideas as if they’re indisputable, and we rationalise the irrational just so we can hold on to our self-imposed limitations. Whether it’s a firm belief that pizza slices should be taken from the box in a clockwise direction, that a toilet roll should be hung with the length to the back (or front!), or an adherance to a facist movement; we all do it to some degree. Changing these mindsets takes effort, as breaking from your internal ‘rules’ feels wrong.

I restrict myself by loathing exposed thread in my beadwork. A little exposed thread is unavoidable, but in most cases it can be concealed in little nooks and crannies so that it’s not so noticeable.

But there’s nothing really wrong with it, there is some amazing artwork out there with plenty of exposed thread. I just can’t seem to let myself do the same thing. Because of this weird little mental decree, I have never made anything from brick stitch – one of the most basic fundamental stitches in bead weaving. Well, I did make a pair of earrings once, but I hated them. So I’m on a personal mission: To free myself from the shackles of surreptitious string and bring everything out into the open.

To prepare for my trip out of my comfort zone, I have made two thread-happy pearl bracelets. I can’t deny that they look great when worn, but if I look for too long all I can see is filament, mocking me, with it’s bright whiteness. After much inner turmoil I forced myself to put them in the store. Tonight I have a date with brick stitch.

Leave a Reply

