Quick and Easy

Image 01

As my new Harlequin armband nears completion, I find myself thinking about what to make next. I like to plan ahead so that I’m not left with the notorious Beaders Block. For the time being, I’m over doing big projects; two massive peyote stitch armbands in a row has me dreaming in cylinder-bead pixels and I need a change of pace. I’m going to tear though a whole lot of quick projects to soothe my need for variation.

My first project is going to be something for myself. I’m going to a costume party this weekend, a rare excursion out in to the world. The theme is the letter S or D, I’m going as a swinger. Get your mind out of the gutter – I mean the dancing kind! I’ve got a black and white rockabilly dress with a big poufy black petticoat and some killer black heels. A talented seamstress friend is making me a little shawl so I can hide my wobbly upper-arms. I just need a brooch to hold the shawl in place, so I thought, why not make one? I’m going to try a wire woven one, as my vision of what I would make with beads would take to long and time is getting short. 

After the brooch I have a request from my sister for a red and silver viking knit bracelet. I’m looking forward to this as I have never used the bright wire colours before and I can’t wait to see what it will look like once it’s been pulled though the drawplate. To add a little glam to the rope-ends, I’ve got some stunning abacus crystals with a half Argent Flare coating on them, which gives them a silver effect.

Once I’ve done these two things, I’m going make some simple pieces. Big, showy, artistic jewellery is great and I love it, but there is beauty in simplicity and there is satisfaction in quick results. In time I intend to take my wares to market and a good stallholder should always have some lower cost items available. I have a gorgeous selection of pendants ready for stringing, and some memory wire waiting to be adorned.

Leave a Reply

